It’s called R E S P E C T folks….

Have you met Tom?  I’ve never actually physically met Tom, yet I have an enormous amount of respect for Tom….Who is this Tom?  I’m talking about Tom from Tom Being Tom.

My first “interlude” with Tom, was when he commented on someone else’s blog that he was going to busy on Thursday, because he would be saving the world.  I commented something like, “well I thought that was my job” or something like that.  As the weeks went by, I would occasionally see Tom comment and support his community.  The blogging community.  Wow someone who practices what he preaches…..intriguing… so I wondered over to his “page”….ugh big words and politics….. hmmm ok, so that’s Tom…and I closed the browser.  Not because he said anything offensive, but because I had no interest in following another keyboard warrior’s rantings about why we should BLAME this person or that person for the sad state of this country.  Who has time for that?

egg on my face

And now I have egg on my face……

I am guilty of many of the things I complain about other people doing.  I complain about the state of the world (in my own mind), yet I don’t REALLY get involved.  I don’t participate in DISCUSSIONS, which is where change has to start.  I’m ‘too busy’ dealing with my own drama that I avoid REAL discussion.  Who has the energy to fight?

So Back to Tom….

I mentioned that the first post I saw from Tom was political, and that I immediately closed that door, but I would still see Tom comments on other peoples blogs and admired his sense of humor.  As time went on, I learned that Tom not only has a great sense of humor, but he love’s dogs….That is something we have in common.

hmmmm maybe I shut the door a little too quickly.  I went back to his blog and learned about a man who REALLY is trying to make the world a better place, not buy shoving information down your throat or saying “You’re wrong, I’m right”, but by putting himself out there, and by encouraging DISCUSSION about sometimes uncomfortable topics.  He asks people to THINK.

Not long ago, Tom posted a blog about Guns.  (Oh shit here we go again.)  But this time I didn’t close the browser.  I read the post AND the comments, and maybe even offered a comment of my own.  I watched the arguments, and name calling start on Tom’s Facebook page.  I only watched.  I didn’t jump into that pile.  As I watched several people “show their ignorance and their asses” I learned something new about Tom.  He wasn’t trying to start a fight with his post, he really was trying to start a discussion.  Even when the name calling started, he didn’t lose his cool, he just asked that people think.  He also LISTENED and in some cases just agreed to disagree.  He didn’t tell the dumbass that was being a dumbass that he was a dumb ass, (I wanted to).  He just asked the ‘dumbass’ to think.

I gained a whole new R.E.S.P.E.C.T, for Tom that day.  He really is trying to save the world.  I have a great deal of respect for the man who practices what he preaches.

I have been thinking about writing a tribute, recommendation, liebster nomination etc about Tom for awhile, and yesterday when I tried to ruffle his feathers and he didn’t take the bait sealed the deal.  See Tom and I disagree about some things.  (Society’s reliance on Technology for one.)  I posted Fuck Fuck Fuck, and Tom commented

I am one of those who believe that technology is a great boon. I’d hate to live away from it. I thrive on connectivity. With my big 5-0 coming up I was asked by some if I’d want to do a camping trip for it, to which I promptly responded “not on your damn life.” Is there free wi-fi there? No, we’re gonna do this thing in Reno, where there are morning bed turns, room service, and m-f’ing CON-NEC-TIV-I-TY!

Addiction?

Nah, fishing is an addiction. An absolute waste of time and energy when one could be online, interacting with real human beings or studying the progression of events in Turkey.

Simplification is an addiction. Life should be complicated and engaged, particularly in this information age.

Not having a mobile phone is an addiction to detachment and privacy. This is the new millennium for chrissakes!

Give me a computer. Give me a phone. Give me instant access, every time.

But every time you don’t give me instant access (like last night when my new comp wouldn’t connect INSTANTLY) I want to do like you say … throw the damn thing through the window. I don’t need a million layers of security … I need CON-NEC-TIV-I-TY!!

(This rant brought to you by Tom Being Tom, of tombeingtom.com — please join me for more random nonsense soon!)

Obviously our opinions differ, but there is nothing wrong with that!  In fact what a boring place this world would be if we all felt and thought the same about everything.

So Tom, I want to thank you for sharing your vulnerabilities.  Thank you for opening up discussions.  Thank you for supporting the growth of others even when your views clash.  Thank you for just being Tom.

I don’t think there is a “Respect” award floating around wordpress, but I give you mine.

To everyone that is reading this, if you have a moment, check out Tom’s blog at Tom being Tom, I really think that you will enjoy it.

This is my favorite post, if you are looking for a place to start.

 

48 thoughts on “It’s called R E S P E C T folks….

  1. This is a good read, I honestly like how you’ve written this, I am impressed with your style and sincerity. Thank you for sharing this. I am Ragazza, I hope you could also follow my blog page. Thank you so much. 🙂

    Like

  2. I think I could respect Tom too… But the whole fishing thing…. Getting your own food is a pretty productive hobby! (right there with ya on the throw it out the window deal)

    Liked by 2 people

    1. LOL! Danica, I hope the “tongue-in-cheek” of that came across, but if it didn’t, know that I respect the fishers among us. Except Jeff. God, I hate Jeff. But I’ve tried fishing a time or ten and I just personally didn’t enjoy it anymore than the fish. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Tom really is a remarkable human being and I am so thrilled to read your tribute to him, Grace. Your experience is a perfect example of what Tom does. He makes people think. He gets people talking. He is going to save the world, and get those of us who are generally in our own heads to come out of the woodwork and add our voices to the conversation. Everyone should be reading his blog; it isn’t just informative and thoughtful, it is entertaining and smart as hell! Fantastic post, Grace!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I discovered Tom exactly the same way. He really does make you think. His posts are always very well thought through and articulate. I admire anyone that can explain their point of view rather than just say ‘this is what I think, like it or lump it’, because that is what opens the discussion. We’re going through the whole Brexit shit-storm, as you may know, and I remember seeing something that relates to this that really stuck with me, along the lines of; if you’re reading/listening to debate within your own circle, you’re likely to be hearing a shared view. By extending your circle, you may hear a conflicting point of view, but the important thing is to try to understand why someone feels that way, and as strongly as you feel about your opinion. If they really are wrong, you have a better handle on how to persuade them otherwise. Makes for a more tolerant and understanding society and better able to cope with conflict. Sorry for the long comment. Got time on my hands!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Ah, Brexit. I remember seeing it coming and thinking, “well, we’re not gonna do something that dumb here, though.” Then we did something far worse. Like Brexit to the Nth degree stupid. Ugh. I’m sorry we had to beat Britain again, this time in topping stupid with stupidest.

      Donald F’ing Trump. 😣

      But all of that aside, I love your thoughts on the circle and stepping outside of it. I actively seek opposing opinions. I want the whole wheelhouse in view before I make my decisions. I might not always make the right ones but I sure want the opportunity to do so. Love the long comment, Echo!

      Liked by 3 people

  5. What a marvelous tribute, Grace! I’m over here blushing! 😊

    It’s funny that you “discovered” me in that way, because that is PRECISELY how I fear to be portrayed. 😣 In fact, I have a fully written, ready to publish (except for a few links) post on the NFL anthem decision that I SHELVED yesterday morning because that would be two political posts in a row! 🤣

    So, instead, I stirred the pot on Facebook to get all my opinions out. More than one way to skin a league!

    But thank you, thank you, thank you for your thoughtful and generous words! We’ve had a lot of fun saving the world together, so far, and we’ve only just begun! 🍻🍻🍻

    Many blessings to you and all of those you cherish. YOU are the reason I love this great, big beautiful world we live in!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I won’t call it a deep dive as your friend wulf calls it, but I do have beer, a deck, and plenty of time to read this weekend Tom… I look forward to reading more… Have a safe and enjoyable weekend!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I have great respect for those opening a discussion, keeping their cool, agreeing to disagree & holding down their own opinions at the same time. Great shout out for the guy – off to check out his blog now! 🙂
    Caz x

    Liked by 1 person

  7. There’s so much I appreciate about Tom, especially the way he makes me think. Of course I rarely come to any firm conclusion; I may be indecisive, but I’m not sure. Leading me here is another thing to thank him for. It would be nice to buy both of you a beer—although I find beer is like technology. When it’s well done and consumed responsibly it can be a wonderful thing. However too much of a good thing can be a bad thing, as Captain Kirk taught us. My motto is that everything taken to excess is bad for you and that includes moderation, but that’s another story.
    Anyway I look forward to coming back here.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Chris is the master of the clever deadpan! He always seems to wind us in a new direction with sagacious whimsy. Appreciate him back, sincerely!

      And, if y’all plan to drink in moderation, I’ll be happy to take the excess. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. How did you know “sagacious” was one of my favorite words? After all it was also one of the favorite words of Edgar Allan Poe who almost always used it ironically.
        I’ll just assume the intent here was sincere. 😀

        Like

  8. What a lovely post and a great write up of a man I’ve only had the pleasure to know fairly recently. Yeah, he talks politics, big subjects and uses big words but he’s switched on, got a heart of gold, the most positive attitude and is definitely someone I’d have a beer with! Glad you gave him a second chance! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.